Skip to content Skip to navigation

2019 NCSS Board and Officer Candidates

The NCSS Board of Directors has approved the following slate of candidates for the 2018-2019 Board of Directors and Officer elections. The election ballot will open on Monday, December 10, 2018 and close on Tuesday, January 22, 2019. NCSS members in good standing as of Monday, October 15, 2018 will receive instructions and credentials for accessing the online ballots. 


The candidates for Vice-President are Marjorie Hunter (Arkansas) and Anton Schulzki (Colorado). Terms for candidates elected will begin July 1, 2019. The candidate elected as Vice-President will be in line to become NCSS President on July 1, 2021.


Marjorie Hunter (Arkansas)
Anton Schulzki (Colorado)

Elementary Classroom Teacher

Vicki Gonterman (Arkansas)
Rebecca Valbuena (California)
Heather Whyte (Kentucky)

Secondary/High School Classroom Teacher

Georgette Hackman (Pennsylvania)
David Huebner (Tennessee)
Bruce Mize (Mississippi)
Ron Reichle (Wisconsin)
Jessica Wilkerson (Virginia)


David Kendrick (Georgia)
Montra Rogers (Texas)
Joseph Schmidt (Maine)
Barry Ethan Thomas (Nebraska)
Scott Waring (Florida)
Annie Whitlock (Michigan)

K-12 Classroom Teacher At-Large

Leslie Barstow (Texas)
Zachariah Lowe (South Carolina)
June Morris (Oregon)
Rhonda Watton (Wisconsin)
Frederick Whaples (North Carolina)

Qualified NCSS members may be nominated as candidates for vice president or for positions on the Board of Directors by petition. The name of a candidate nominated by petition, along with candidates nominated by the Nominations and Elections Committee, will be placed on the ballot and candidate information sheets. The petition must carry the signatures of at least 150 NCSS members; no more than 75 of these may be from one state, and no member may sign more than one petition. Petition forms must be submitted to NCSS headquarters by October 1, accompanied by a 200-word biographical sketch, a 200-word position statement, and a photograph. For more information, please see

Board members with terms expiring June 30, 2019:

Terry Cherry (Texas)
Kimberly Heckart (Iowa)
Marjorie Hunter (Arkansas)
Andy Mink (North Carolina)
Rhonda Watton (Wisconsin)

Board members with terms continuing in 2019-20:

Joe Feinberg (Georgia) 2021
Jesse Haight (Pennsylvania) 2020
Wesley Hedgepeth (Virginia) 2021
Joseph Karb (New York) 2020
Tracy Middleton (California) 2021
Shannon Pugh (Maryland) 2020
Chanda Robinson (South Carolina) 2021
Anthony Roy (Connecticut) 2020

Officers as of July 1, 2019:

Tina Heafner (President)
Stefanie Wager (President-Elect)
India Meissel (Past-President)