Skip to content Skip to navigation

NCSS Announces Candidates for the 2018-2019 Board of Directors Election

The NCSS Board of Directors has approved the following slate of candidates for the 2018-2019 board of directors election.


Melissa Collum (Wisconsin)
Stefanie Wager (Iowa)


Joe Feinberg (Georgia)
James Lane (Ohio)
Craig Perrier (Virginia)

K-12 Classroom Teacher At-Large

Georgette Hackman (Pennsylvania)
Tom Michalek (New York)
Tracy Middleton (California)
Jennifer Morgan (Wisconsin)

Secondary/High School Classroom Teacher

Andrew Smith (Indiana)
Wesley Hedgepeth (Virginia)
Jessica Wilkerson (Virginia)


David Burton (Oklahoma)
Drew Hammill (North Carolina)
Chanda Robinson (South Carolina)

Qualified NCSS members may be nominated by petition as candidates for vice-president or for positions on the board of directors (Section 1.4.5, NCSS Policy Manual). The name of a candidate nominated by petition, along with candidates nominated by the NCSS Nominations and Elections Committee, will be placed on the ballot and candidate information sheets. The petition must carry the signatures of at least 150 NCSS members; no member may sign more than one petition. Petition forms must be submitted to NCSS headquarters by October 1, 2017, accompanied by a 200-word biographical sketch, a 200-word position statement, and a photograph. Please e-mail all petition forms to Dr. Lawrence Paska, NCSS Executive Director, at

Terms for elected candidates will begin on July 1, 2018. The candidate elected as vice-president will be in line to become president on July 1, 2020.

The online election ballot will open on Monday, November 20, 2017 and close on January 15, 2018. NCSS members in good standing as of October 31, 2017 will receive instructions and credentials for accessing the online ballots.

For more information on the nominations process for the board of directors, please visit

Board members with terms expiring on June 30, 2018:

Mary Ellen Daneels (Illinois)
Peggy Jackson (New Mexico)
David Klemm (Michigan) Jennifer Morgan (Wisconsin)
Stefanie Wager (Iowa)

Board members continuing in 2018-2019:

Terry Cherry (Past-President as of July 2018)
Jesse Haight (Pennsylvania) 2020
Tina Heafner (President-Elect as of July 2018)
Kimberly Heckart (Iowa) 2019
Marjorie Hunter (Arkansas) 2019
Joseph Karb (New York) 2020
India Meissel (President as of July 2018)
Andy Mink (North Carolina) 2019
Shannon Pugh (Maryland) 2020
Anthony Roy (Connecticut) 2020
Rhonda Watton (Wisconsin) 2019