Skip to content Skip to navigation

NCSS Elects New Board Members

SILVER SPRING, Md. (Jan. 17, 2018) – National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) is pleased to announce the newly elected members of its board of directors who will begin their terms on July 1, 2018.

Stefanie Wager
Stefanie Rosenberg Wager, social studies consultant for the Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines, Iowa has been elected vice president of NCSS. As vice president, Wager is in line to assume the NCSS presidency in July 2020. Wager has taught high school social studies for Des Moines Public Schools and Dallas Center-Grimes Schools and worked at Instituto Thomas Jefferson in Naucalpan, Mexico. She has been involved in the Iowa Council for the Social Studies since 2010, first serving as co-chair for the Annual Conference, then vice-president, and most recently as president. Wager is a member of the Council of State Social Studies Specialists (CS4), an NCSS Associated Group. Other leadership roles include her service on various boards including: Hispanic Education Resources, Geographic Alliance of Iowa, Living History Farms Education Advisory Council, and Iowa Holocaust Council.

NCSS membership also elected candidates to three-year terms on the NCSS board of directors: Wesley Hedgepeth, a 9-12 grade teacher at Trinity Episcopal School in Richmond, Va. (Secondary/High School Classroom Teacher Representative); Chanda Robinson, a secondary social studies consultant at Richland County School District One in Columbia, S.C. (Supervisor Representative); Tracy Middleton, a 6-8 grade teacher at Escondido Union School District in Escondido, Calif. (K-12 Teacher At-Large); and Joe Feinberg, an associate professor at Georgia State University in Atlanta, Ga. (At-Large).

Also in July 2018, President-elect India Meissel, a teacher at Lakeland High School in Suffolk, Va., will assume the office of president, and Vice President Tina Heafner, a professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte in Charlotte, N.C., will assume the office of president-elect.

NCSS President Terry Cherry said, “Congratulations and welcome to the NCSS board of directors! Being elected by the NCSS membership speaks highly of you. You now represent a national organization that speaks for social science educators in your community, state, nation and world wide.”

NCSS Executive Director Dr. Lawrence Paska said, “We are excited to welcome our newly elected board members. Our entire team looks forward to working with our board in the year ahead as we continue to focus on our strategic priorities for NCSS and our social studies profession.”

The online election ballot opened on Nov. 20, 2017 and closed on Jan. 15, 2018. All NCSS members in good standing as of Oct. 31, 2017 received instructions and credentials for accessing the online ballot.

For more information on the nominations process for the board of directors, please visit

Founded in 1921, National Council for the Social Studies is the largest professional association in the country devoted solely to social studies education. NCSS engages and supports educators in strengthening and advocating social studies. The NCSS membership represents K-12 classroom teachers, college and university faculty members, curriculum designers and specialists, social studies supervisors, and leaders in the various disciplines that constitute the social studies.

For more information contact:

Ana Post