Skip to content Skip to navigation

NCSS Board of Directors Nominations

Call for Nominations

NCSS seeks candidates for Vice-President and for members of its Board of Directors. You may nominate yourself, or recommend a colleague member who has experience as an NCSS Associated Group or Affiliated Council leader. Recommendations may be sent to the Nominations and Elections Committee. NCSS encourages all members to recommend possible candidates.

Founded in 1921, NCSS is the largest professional association in the country devoted solely to social studies education. The mission of National Council for the Social Studies is to advocate and build capacity for high-quality social studies by providing leadership, services, and support to educators.

For the 2019-2020 election cycle, the NCSS Nominations and Elections Committee will select candidates for the following categories:

  • Vice-President
  • Middle Level Classroom Teacher
  • College/University
  • At-Large
  • K-12 Classroom Teacher At-Large

To qualify for the classroom teacher categories, an individual must be teaching half-time or more in the classroom at the time of election. To be eligible for the College/University position, a candidate must be half-time or more on a faculty appointment of a college or university, and a member of the College and University Faculty Assembly (CUFA.) NCSS student members preparing to fill any of these professional roles shall be eligible for nomination and election in any of the categories above.

The NCSS Board of Directors sets policy and the ultimate direction for our organization. As the voice of social studies educators from across the United States and several countries, the Board deliberates on all items of concern to NCSS and to the social studies profession. The board meets in person 3 times per year: in person during the fall (September or October), Annual Conference (November or early December), and in early spring (March). The board also meets several times per year by teleconference, including in late spring (May or June). All travel expenses for Board meetings are paid by NCSS, with the exception of the Annual Conference meeting, for which NCSS will reimburse one night’s hotel at the conference rate at one day’s meals at the per diem rate.

Members of the NCSS Board of Directors serve a 3-year term. Individual elected vice president serve a total of 4 years: one year each as vice-president, president-elect, president and past president. 

Those interested in applying should review The General Duties and Expectations of Board Members and Officers before submitting an application.

All nomination applications for nomination are due by Friday, April 15, 2019. The 2018 elections will be held November 25, 2019-January 15, 2020, and those elected will begin their terms July 1, 2020. 

Nomination Application



Print Friendly, PDF & Email