Skip to content Skip to navigation

Announcements and Opportunities

Do you know of an excellent social studies educator, program, or dissertation that deserves recognition? NCSS is accepting nominations and applications for the following 2017 awards and grants. Awardees will be recognized at the NCSS Annual Conference, which will be held in San Francisco, November 16-19, 2017. Read more and submit an application at http://www.socialstudies.org/awards/teacherofyear. Deadline for Application / Nomination is May 15, 2017.

Outstanding Social Studies Teacher of the Year
Deadline: 
5/15/2017
Category: 
May 9, 2017 - 9:30am EDT to May 17, 2017 - 9:30am EDT
We the Voters invites you to join a free, 1-hour, online professional development opportunity designed for secondary social science, civics, government, and ELA teachers, utilizing the new short film anthology We the Voters: 20 Films for the People. Choose one of these two conveniently scheduled webinars:
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
4:00 pm EDT / 3:00 pm CDT / 2:00 pm MDT / 1:00 pm PDT

AND

Wednesday, May 17, 2017
3:00 pm PDT / 4:00 pm MDT / 5:00 pm CDT / 6:00 pm EDT
Deadline: 
5/08/2017
July 11, 2017 to July 14, 2017

Educators from across the United States are invited to the 3rd annual Korean War Digital History Teacher Conference. This is a one of a kind conference celebrating the lives and sacrifices of our Korean War Veterans through oral history. This years’ conference will include:

July 10, 2017 - 9:00am EDT to July 14, 2017 - 3:00pm EDT
Be inspired this summer! Attend one of the Smithsonian American Art Museum's week-long summer institutes in Washington, D.C., July 10–14 or July 24–28, 2017. Join educators from
July 3, 2017 - 3:00pm EDT to July 28, 2017 - 3:00pm EDT
Earn professional development hours or university credit with Population Education this July.  
July 20, 2017 - 9:00am EDT to July 23, 2017 - 3:00pm EDT
The Institute of Buddhist Studies (IBS) and the Buddhist Churches of America Center for Buddhist Education (BCA CBE) are presenting a new educational seminar for K-12 teachers who are interested in learning about
Deadline: 
6/01/2017
July 1, 2017 - 9:15am EDT
PDK will be offering a limited number of $900 scholarships for those that wish to travel this summer. Educators are invited to explore World War II history in Munich and Berlin by
Offer your skills, talents, and expertise -- and learn about your profession and your colleagues. Consider these opportunities:
June 26, 2017 - 8:00am EDT
Join a cohort of trained educators to help prepare your students for the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century at The Summer Institute for Climate Change Education.
July 27, 2017 - 9:45am EDT to July 29, 2017 - 9:45am EDT
How can we employ the history of American representative government to help students grapple with their role as 21st century citizens?
Deadline: 
6/02/2017