The 2012 NCSS Election Results Are In!

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Michelle Herczog_0.JPG

Michelle Herczog, History-Social Science Consultant for the Los Angeles County Office of Education, has been elected Vice President of National Council for the Social Studies and is in line to be president of NCSS in 2014-2015. A former elementary school teacher, Herczog is completing a term as a member of the NCSS Board of Directors, and has also served NCSS as chair of the Citizenship Community. As President of the California Council of the Social Studies, she built coalitions to promote legislation that addressed the narrowing of the curriculum in California schools. Currently as Chair of the Government Relations Committee of the California CSS, and Chair of the NCSS Citizenship Community, she continues to fight for policy changes that will put social studies "back on the map" to help all teachers fulfill the promise of education---to provide ALL students with the knowledge, skills and dispositions to be competent, engaged citizens in the 21st century.

NCSS members also elected 4 members to the board of directors for three year terms beginning July 1, 2012: Karen Burgard, Assistant Professor at Franklin College, Indianapolis, IN; Andrew Demko, Social Studies Teacher for Rainier School District, Rainier, OR; India Meissel, Teacher at Lakeland High School, Suffolk, VA; and Mary McCullagh, Social Studies Department Leader at Christopher Columbus High School, Miami FL.

Newly elected members will begin their terms July 1, 2012. John Moore, Associate Professor at Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green and Stephen Armstrong, Social Studies Department Supervisor, West Hartford Connecticut Public Schools begin their respective terms as NCSS president and president-elect on the same date. As president-elect, Stephen Armstrong is in line to become president 2013-2014.

Stay Connected with NCSS:   Follow NCSSNetwork on Twitter FaceBook.png rss_0.gif