Main menu

Home | News and Advocacy

2013 NCSS Board of Directors Election Results

oneil_portrait_0.jpgKim O'Neil from Liverpool, New York has been elected vice-president of National Council for the Social Studies and is line to assume the NCSS presidency 2015-2016. Kim is currently serving her second term on the Board as the elementary representative. During her tenure she has served as co-chair of the International Visitors' Task Force, is a member of the editorial board for Social Studies and the Young Learner publication and of the review board for the NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People. She is a co-author of the 2012 Goethe Institut curricular materials and serves as the outreach teacher liaison for the Moynihan Institute Center for European Studies at Syracuse University. Kim is a National Board Certified teacher and has taught for 35 years as an elementary and middle school teacher in Liverpool, NY.

Also elected to three-year terms on the board are Kimberly Heckart, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Elizabeth Hinde, Mesa, Arizona; Anton Schulzki, Colorado Springs, Colorado; and Charles Vaughan, Columbia, South Carolina.

The new NCSS leaders will begin their terms on July 1, 2013. Stephen Armstrong of South Windsor, Connecticut and Michelle Herczog, of Culver City, California will begin their respective terms as President and President-Elect on the same date. As president-elect, Michelle is in line to become president 2014-2015. Current president John Moore will continue on the board of directors as past-president through June 2014.

2013-2014 NCSS Board of Directors


Stephen Armstrong President
William H. Hall High School and King Phillip Middle School, West Hartford, CT Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, CT

Michelle Herczog President-Elect
Los Angeles County Office of Education, Downey, CA

Kim O'Neil
Liverpool Elementary School, Liverpool, NY

Board of Directors

Karen Burgard
Franklin College, Franklin, IN (2015)

Andrew Demko Rainier Jr/Sr. High School, Rainier, OR (2015)

Terry Cherry
Naaman Forest High School, Garland, TX (2014)

Diane Hart
Menlo Park, CA (2014)

Kimberly Heckart
Prairie Ridge Elementary, Cedar Rapids, IA (2016)

Elizabeth Hinde
Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ (2016)

Mary McCullagh
Christopher Columbus High School, Miami, FL (2015)

India Meissel Lakeland High School, Suffolk, VA (2015)

John Moore Past President
Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY

Elyse Poller
Mansfield Middle School, Mansfield, CT (2014)

Anton Schulzki
William J. Palmer High School, Colorado Springs, CO (2016)

Loraine Stewart
Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA (2014)

Charles Vaughan
Richland Northeast High School, Columbia, SC (2016)

Ex Officio

Rick Daniel
Chair, House of Delegates Steering Committee (2013)
Jefferson County Public Schools, Louisville, KY

Stay Connected with NCSS:   Follow NCSSNetwork on Twitter FaceBook.png rss_0.gif