Main menu

2011 Board of Directors Election Results

Stephen Armstrong, a long-time social studies teacher and supervisor at both the secondary and college levels, has been elected vice-president of NCSS and is in line to assume the presidency in 2013-2014. Stephen is currently social studies department supervisor at William H. Hall High School and King Phillip Middle School in West Hartford, Connecticut, and an adjunct instructor of history at Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, Connecticut.

Stephen has served on the NCSS Board of Directors on two separate occasions and is the current chairperson of the NCSS Government and Public Relations committee. He is a past-president of Connecticut Council for the Social Studies and the New England History Teachers Association, and recently served on the committee that revised the Connecticut social studies standards.

Also elected to terms on the board of directors are Elyse Poller, a teacher at Mansfield Middle School, Mansfield, Connecticut; Terry Cherry, a teacher at Naaman Forest High School, Garland, Texas; Loraine Stewart, an associate professor at Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia; and Diane Hart, a curriculum developer, writer, and consultant, Menlo Park, California.

Newly elected members will begin their terms July 1, 2011. Sue Blanchette of Dallas, Texas, and John Moore of Bowling Green, Kentucky, begin their respective terms as NCSS president and president-elect on the same date. As president-elect, John Moore is in line to become president 2012-2013.

The 2011 election was the first NCSS election conducted online, a process that is more environmentally friendly and cost effective than the traditional paper ballot -- and it's more convenient for members. Of those who voted, 96 percent indicated that they were satisfied or very satisfied with the new online voting.

Stay Connected with NCSS:   Follow NCSSNetwork on Twitter FaceBook.png rss_0.gif