NCSS Research Awards

PDF versionPDF version

National Council for the Social Studies presents three research awards designed to recognize substantive scholarly inquiry in social studies education. The Larry Metcalf Exemplary Dissertation Award The Larry Metcalf Exemplary Dissertation Award recognizes outstanding research completed in pursuit of the doctoral degree; Exemplary Research in the Social Studies Award acknowledges, and encourages scholarly inquiry in significant issues and possibilities for social studies education; and The Jean Dresden Grambs Distinguished Career Research Award recognizes professionals who have made extensive contributions to knowledge concerning significant areas of social studies education through meritorious research.

For the purpose of these awards, social studies education includes work in the individual social sciences; women studies and gender studies; multicultural, citizenship, global, economic, and geographic education; decision making; reflective inquiry; moral education; critical theory; teacher education; teacher thinking; and teaching-learning phenomena. In addition, research is broadly defined to include experimental, qualitative, historical, and philosophical work.

More Information and Nomination Requirements

2010 Exemplary Research cover page.doc91.5 KB
2010 J D Grambs Career Research cover page.doc95 KB
2010 Larry Metcalf Exemplary Dissertation cover page.doc94.5 KB
Stay Connected with NCSS:   Follow NCSSNetwork on Twitter FaceBook.png rss_0.gif