2012 NCSS Award and Grant Recipients

Congratulations to the 2012 NCSS Award and Grant Recipients. Please join us in recognizing these educators for their outstanding accomplishments in social studies education. NCSS Award and Grant recipients were formally recognized during the NCSS Annual Conference in Seattle, Washington in November, where they also presented sessions on their outstanding work.

Outstanding Social Studies Teachers of the Year

Sponsored by Farmers Insurance

  • The 2012 Teacher of the Year Awards Presentation were presented during the NCSS President's Breakfast, Friday, November 16 in Seattle, Washington.


Mary E. Ledbetter
University of Texas Elementary School, Austin, Texas

Middle Level

Joseph D. Karb
Springville Middle School, Springville, New York


David Bosso
Berlin High School, Berlin, Connecticut

Award for Global Understanding in Honor of James Becker

Lisa Adeli
University of Arizona Center for Middle Eastern Studies, Tucson, Arizona

  • The Award for Global Understanding will be presented by Rick Steves and
    NCSS at the conclusion of his keynote speech on Friday, November 16.

Jean Dresden Grambs Distinguished Career Research in Social Studies

Sherry L. Field
Dean of the Arkansas Tech University College of Education, Russellville, Arkansas

Christa Mcauliffe Reach for the Stars

Jeffrey A. Hinton
Northwest Career and Technical Academy, Las Vegas, NV

Stay Connected with NCSS:   Follow NCSSNetwork on Twitter FaceBook.png rss_0.gif