Main menu

About

2009 NCSS House of Delegates Resolutions

RESOLUTION # 09-01-1
NCSS TO ENCOURAGE AND SUPPORT SUMMER LEADERSHIP INSTITUTE

Sponsored by: OHIO CSS
Co-sponsored by: Georgia CSS, New Mexico CSS, Kansas CSS, Tennessee CSS, ATSS/UFT, North Carolina CSS, South Carolina CSS, New York CSS, Alabama CSS, Mississippi, California, Missouri

NCSS House of Delegates

The NCSS House of Delegates (HOD) is composed of representatives of NCSS affiliated councils, associated groups and communities. The sessions of the House of Delegates held in connection with the major annual meeting constitutes the annual business meeting of the House of Delegates.

NCSS Strategic Plan

Overview

In the fall of 2000, conducted a series of in-depth qualitative telephone interviews with representatives of various NCSS key constituencies to gain insight into professional issues and challenges as well as the perception of NCSS and its current structure. This provided a base of information for the strategic thinking sessions.

NCSS Committees

Be an NCSS Leader!

Serve on an NCSS Operations Committee

Operations committees carry out board-mandated operations, duties, and policies, as well as many of the necessary business and organizational functions of NCSS. Operations committees relate their work to Board directives, the long-range plan of NCSS, and the leadership theme of the year set by the Board. They make recommendations to the board and provide advice.

NCSS Board of Directors

Officers

Peggy Jackson
President
Moriarity High School, Moriarity, NM

Terry Cherry 
President-Elect
Naaman Forest High School, Garland, TX

India Meissel
Vice President
Lakeland High School, Suffolk, VA


Board of Directors

Linda Bennett
University of Missouri, Columbia, MO (2017)

Leslie Parks
Myrtle Beach High School, Myrtle Beach, SC (2017)

Endorsements and Collaborations

Frequently, NCSS is invited to participate with others in a variety of projects, services, or endorsements. NCSS reviews requests for involvement or endorsement three-times per year. Requests received after the submission date are considered at the next scheduled meeting.

 

Contact Us

National Council for the Social Studies
8555 Sixteenth Street
Suite 500
Silver Spring, Maryland 20910

Telephone: 301 588-1800
Fax: 301 588-2049

NCSS Headquarters is open Monday through Friday, 9:00am - 5:00pm, Eastern time.

Departments

Annual Conference
For information on conference registration and exhibits
Extension 109
e-mail:registration@ncss.org
"Information available online"

Print Advertising

More Information

Council Services
Information on local affiliated councils, NCSS professional development activities, and Rho Kappa
Extension 107
e-mail:councils@ncss.org

Finance and Administration
Accounts payable, accounts receivable, administrative matters
Extension 104

Information Services
Extension 106

Internet Services
Questions about NCSS Online
Extension 116
e-mail: webmaster@ncss.org

Membership
Questions about your membership, how to join, journal subscriptions and address changes
Extension 111
e-mail:membership@ncss.org
"Information available online"

Publications
Copyright permissions and manuscript submissions
Extension 122
e-mail: publications@ncss.org

Purchase all NCSS Publications and back issues of journals by calling
Toll Free 1 800 683-0812

Newsletter - The Social Studies Professional
Resource, professional development, and other submissions
Extension 122
e-mail: tssp@ncss.org

 

NCSS Staff

 

Lawrence Paska
Executive Director

e-mail: lpaska@ncss.org

 

Sojan Alex
Staff Accountant
Extension 101
e-mail: alex@ncss.org

 

David Bailor
Director of Meetings and Exhibits
Extension 109
e-mail: dbailor@ncss.org

 

Jennifer Bauduy
Senior Editor
Extension 118
e-mail: jbauduy@ncss.org

 

Timothy Daly
Director of Administration
Extension 116
e-mail: tdaly@ncss.org

 

Ashanté Horton
Conference Services and Education Manager
Extension 108
e-mail: ahorton@ncss.org

 

Steven S. Lapham
Associate Editor
Extension 119
e-mail: slapham@ncss.org

 

Brenda Luper, CAE
Director of Finance
Extension 104
e-mail: brenda@ncss.org

 

Victoria Nayiga
Program Manager, External Relations and Council Communications
Extension 107
e-mail: victoria@ncss.org

 

Richard Palmer
Art Director
Extension 120
e-mail: rpalmer@ncss.org

 

Archna Pancholi
Staff Accountant
Extension 104
e-mail: apancholi@ncss.org

 

Ana Post
Director of External Relations and Council Communication (Press)
Extension 114
e-mail: apost@ncss.org

 

Cassandra Roberts
Director of Membership
Extension 110
e-mail: croberts@ncss.org

 

Angel Robertson
Membership Assistant
Extension 111
e-mail: arobertson@ncss.org

 

Michael Simpson
Director of Publications
Extension 105
e-mail: msimpson@ncss.org

About National Council for the Social Studies

Social studies educators teach students the content knowledge, intellectual skills, and civic values necessary for fulfilling the duties of citizenship in a participatory democracy. The mission of National Council for the Social Studies is to provide leadership, service, and support for all social studies educators.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - About
Printer Friendly and PDF
Stay Connected with NCSS:   Follow NCSSNetwork on TwitterFaceBook.png rss_0.gif Visit us on Pinterest