Main menu

About

NCSS Committees

Be an NCSS Leader!

Serve on an NCSS Operations Committee

Operations committees carry out board-mandated operations, duties, and policies, as well as many of the necessary business and organizational functions of NCSS. Operations committees relate their work to Board directives, the long-range plan of NCSS, and the leadership theme of the year set by the Board. They make recommendations to the board and provide advice.

NCSS Board of Directors

Officers

Michelle Herczog President
Los Angeles County Office of Education, Downey, CA

Kim O’Neil President-Elect
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, Liverpool, NY

Peggy Jackson Vice President
Moriarity High School, Moriarity, NM


Board of Directors

Stephen Armstrong Past President
Connecticut State Department of Education, Hartford, CT

Linda Bennett
University of Missouri, Columbia, MO (2017)

Karen Burgard
Franklin College, Franklin, IN (2015)

Leslie Carter

Endorsements and Collaborations

Frequently, NCSS is invited to participate with others in a variety of
projects, services, or endorsements. NCSS may participate in the
following ways:

Contact Us

 

National Council for the Social Studies8555 Sixteenth Street
Suite 500
Silver Spring, Maryland 20910

 

 

Telephone: 301 588-1800
Fax: 301 588-2049

Publications Orders: 1 800 683-0812

NCSS Headquarters is open Monday through Friday, 9:00am - 5:00pm, Eastern time.

Departments

Annual Conference
For information on conference registration and exhibits
Extension 109
e-mail:registration@ncss.org
"Information available online"

Print Advertising
To purchase space in NCSS publications and conference materials
Doran Communications
302 644-0546
302 644-4678 fax
e-mail: :advertising@ncss.org
"Information available online"

Council Services
Information on local affiliated councils, NCSS professional development activities, and Rho Kappa
Extension 107
e-mail:councils@ncss.org

Finance and Administration
Accounts payable, accounts receivable, administrative matters
Extension 104

Information Services
Extension 106

Internet Services
Questions about NCSS Online
Extension 116
e-mail: webmaster@ncss.org

Membership
Questions about your membership, how to join, journal subscriptions and address changes
Extension 111
e-mail:membership@ncss.org
"Information available online"

Publications
Copyright permissions and manuscript submissions
Extension 122
e-mail: publications@ncss.org

Purchase all NCSS Publications and back issues of journals by calling
Toll Free 1 800 683-0812

 

Newsletter - The Social Studies Professional
Resource, professional development, and other submissions
Extension 122
e-mail: tssp@ncss.org

 

The American Promise Educational Outreach

NCSS Staff

Susan Griffin
Executive Director

e-mail: sgriffin@ncss.org

 

Sojan Alex
Staff Accountant
Extension 101
e-mail: alex@ncss.org

 

David Bailor
Director of Meetings and Exhibits
Extension 109
e-mail: dbailor@ncss.org

 

Jennie Bauduy
Editor
Extension 118
e-mail: jbauduy@ncss.org

 

Timothy Daly
Director of Administration
Extension 116
e-mail: tdaly@ncss.org

 

Jordan Grote
Program Manager, External Relations and Council Communications
Extension 107
e-mail: jgrote@ncss.org

 

Ashanté Horton
Conference Services and Education Manager
Extension 108
e-mail: ahorton@ncss.org

 

Steven S. Lapham
Editor
Extension 119
e-mail: slapham@ncss.org

 

Brenda Luper, CAE
Director of Finance
Extension 104
e-mail: brenda@ncss.org
Richard Palmer
Art Director
Extension 120
e-mail: rpalmer@ncss.org

 

Ana Post
Director of External Relations and Council Communication (Press)
Extension 114
e-mail: apost@ncss.org

 

Cassandra Roberts
Director of Membership Processing
Extension 110
e-mail: croberts@ncss.org

 

Angel Robertson
Membership Processing Assistant
Extension 111
e-mail: arobertson@ncss.org

 

Michael Simpson
Director of Publications
Extension 105
e-mail: msimpson@ncss.org

About National Council for the Social Studies

Social studies educators teach students the content knowledge, intellectual skills, and civic values necessary for fulfilling the duties of citizenship in a participatory democracy. The mission of National Council for the Social Studies is to provide leadership, service, and support for all social studies educators.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - About
Stay Connected with NCSS:   Follow NCSSNetwork on Twitter FaceBook.png rss_0.gif